As a general contractor, you’re responsible for making sure your projects run smoothly and your clients and subcontractors are happy.
To make sure you can focus on providing the best quality work, you’ll need to have all your paperwork in order, including meeting the general contractor license requirements in your state.
While some states require you to obtain a license from the state or local government (depending on the type of work you plan to do), others don’t require any special licenses for minor repair work, such as painting or home improvement projects that cost less than a certain amount. Since each state has such variable specifications, it’s important to carefully research everything you need to do before you spend money on an application.
You will also need to make sure you have the right general contractor insurance, which is required to get a license in many states. Your clients might also ask you to have coverage before they'll work with you. Insurance helps to protect you against claims related to property damage and injuries caused by your business. It also helps pay for court costs and legal fees you may incur to defend your business against a claim.
We’ve put together a state-by-state list of general contractor licensing requirements to make it easier for you to find what you need.
These are the main topics we’ll cover:
- The different types of general contractor licenses
- How to get your general contractor’s license
- Requirements you’ll need for each type of contractor license
- Insurance requirements to protect your business
The list is in alphabetical order and includes links for additional resources in each state.
General contractors must have a state license in Alabama to work on any construction, alteration, maintenance, repair or demolition project that costs more than $50,000. You’ll also need a license if you work on residential projects over $10,000 or swimming pools over $5,000.
Alabama requires three references as part of the license application. You’ll also need financial statements prepared by a certified accountant and other proof that your business is registered.
The license is awarded by the Licensing Board for General Contractors. Applicants must pass a trade exam, and a business and law exam. You’ll also need to document your work experience and show proof of general liability insurance in Alabama.
Your application with required fees — $300 for general contractors, $150 for subcontractors — must be submitted at least 30 days before quarterly board meetings.
Learn more about general contractor license requirements in Alabama.
General contractors must hold a state license to work in Alaska. There are three classifications of licenses which are awarded by the Department of Commerce, Community, and Economic Development, Division of Corporations, Business, and Professional Licensing. These construction licenses include:
General contractor with residential contractor endorsement
Can oversee new home construction or can undertake residential work that is more than 25% of the value of the structure. You’ll need to complete a 16-hour cold climate course and pass an exam.
General contractor without residential contractor endorsement
Can undertake commercial work or residential remodel work less than 25% of the value of the structure. No exam is required.
General contractor handyman
You’ll be able to undertake residential or commercial work valued at less than $10,000.
Any general contractor who builds, alters, repairs, adds to, subtracts from, improves, moves, wrecks or demolishes any structure must hold a state contractor license to work in Arizona. There are a number of different classifications of licenses awarded by the Arizona Registrar of Contractors. They include:
- General residential contractors license
- General commercial contractor license
- General dual license contracting (includes both residential and commercial contracting license)
To receive a general contractor license, you must pass the trade exam, as well as the business management exam. You must show proof of four years of experience and show proof of a bond.
Learn more about general contractor license requirements in Arizona.
All general contractors in Arkansas must have a state general contractor license to do any work worth more than $2,000. There are a number of different classifications of licenses awarded by the Contractors Licensing Board. These include:
Allows you to work on projects worth more than $50,000. This allows you to also do residential work in the same classification as your commercial license.
Restricted commercial license
You can only work on commercial projects worth less than $750,000.
Residential builders license
Allows you to do work on any single-family residence where the work is worth more than $2,000.
Residential remodeler limited license
You can do home improvement work worth up to $50,000.
Residential remodeler unlimited license
You can do any size home improvement projects.
For all licenses, you must provide a financial statement, proof of a bond, and proof of workers’ compensation insurance. You need to pass a business and law exam. You’ll need to select your specialty or classification.
A building (commercial or residential) classification does not require a trade exam. You will require references who can detail your work experience.
Learn more about general contractor license and insurance requirements in Arkansas.
All general contractors in California must hold a state license from the California Contractors State License Board for any work worth more than $500.
There are three types of contractor licenses in California:
- Class A general engineering contractor: The license for specialized engineering projects
- Class B general building contractor: The license for managing projects involving two or more unrelated trades
- Class C specialty contractor: The license for performing different types of construction work or particular trades. Class C contractors can’t be general contractors on projects that involve multiple trades.
You can apply for a general engineering contractor or general building contractor license. You must have had four full years of experience in the past ten years at a journeyman level or as a foreman, supervisor, or contractor, in the classification in which you’re applying.
You’ll need to show proof of a bond or cash deposit of $15,000, and that you meet all the requirements before you take the trade exam, as well as a business and law exam. You’ll also have to submit your fingerprints and take an Asbestos exam. Next steps include posting your bond and showing proof of workers’ compensation insurance if you’re going to hire any employees.
Several fees are also involved, including a $330 application fee and a $200 license fee. Once you have a license you’ll need to renew it every two years, which costs $450.
Learn more about general contractor license requirements in California.
General contractors do not need a state license to work in Colorado. However, many local governments have contractor license requirements. A good starting point is to contact the local government in the town or city where you’re going to work..
For example, Denver contractors must pass an exam, have a supervisors certificate and meet other standards set by the Denver Community Planning & Development Office. Several cities require contractors to have active insurance, as well.
There are a few different types of general contractor licenses available in Colorado but not all types are offered in every area.
The most common types of licenses are:
- Class A license: This license allows contractors to work on any building project, no matter how big or small.
- Class B license: This license allows contractors to work on most residential and commercial building projects.
- Class C license: This license limits contractors to working on residential buildings for single-family dwellings or multi-family dwellings.
To qualify for a license, contractors will need to pass an International Code Council (ICC) exam and already have a Colorado general liability policy with at least a $100,000 policy limit.
After you’ve satisfied the requirements and your application is submitted, it usually takes a few weeks for review, depending on the municipality. Applications that were submitted through the mail system may also take longer than applications submitted online or in person.
Learn more about Colorado general contractor license requirements.
Connecticut does not require general contractors to hold a state license. However, if you do work on residential properties you’ll be considered a home improvement contractor and you’ll need to register with the Department of Consumer Protection.
Learn more about Connecticut general contractor license requirements.
General contractors in Delaware do not require a trade license, but you will need to obtain a business license and register with the Delaware Division of Revenue.
As a general contractor, you must have a state license to work in Florida. The license is awarded by the Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation.
There are different types of licenses based on what kind of classification your business falls under:
- A certified license allows contractors to work anywhere in the state
- A registered license allows contractors to only work in specific areas in the state
Choose your license once you’ve decided what type of contracting work you’ll do:
General contractor - CG and RG
The license is unlimited regarding the type of work you can perform. You will need to show at least one year of experience constructing structures four stories or higher. You must have experience in four of seven specific categories.
Building contractor - CB and RB
This is limited to the construction of commercial buildings or residential buildings that don’t exceed three stories in height, or the remodeling, repair or improvement of any size structure.
Residential contractors license - CR and RR
This is limited to work on residences that are no more than two stories in height.
You’ll need to show proof of four years of experience, or a combination of education and experience (with up to three years of education are able to substitute for experience). You must show proof of financial stability, as well as liability and workers’ compensation insurance in Florida.
You’ll need to pass a trade exam, as well as a business and law exam. You may be able to register with the state and then apply for a trade license at the local, county or city level.
Florida is unique in that it requires you to pass your state certification exam before you can apply for your general contractor license. You need to schedule your exam with Professional Testing, Inc.
Note that the exam is only available to be taken in February, April, June, August, October and December.
Learn more about Florida general contractor license and insurance requirements.
You'll need to get a contractor license in Georgia if you plan to work on projects valued at $2,500 or higher. The state takes a tiered approach for licenses based on the projects you're working on. You'll also have to meet minimum insurance requirements, as well as education or work experience requirements:
- A diploma or transcript in engineering, architecture, project management, or building construction.
- A diploma or transcript showing college-level coursework and work experience commensurate with at least four years of university experience.
- At least four years of work experience in construction, of which two were working for a general contractor.
There are four different kinds of licenses in Georgia for general contractors:
This license is for work that exceeds $2,500 on private, commercial, industrial, public, and other building projects.
General contractor-limited tier
This allows for the same work as basic contractor license but with contract amounts of $500,000 or less.
This license is limited to projects with detached one-family and two-family residences and one-family townhouses (not over three-stories) and adjacent structures.
Residential-light commercial contractor
This license is the same as residential-basic, with the addition of projects related to multifamily and multi-use light commercial buildings and adjacent structures.
Note that for Residential Basic and Light Commercial license applications, your proof of net worth can be in the form of a $25,000 surety bond in the individual or business organization’s name. For all other applications, you will need a signed financial letter referenced by a certified accountant.
Learn more about Georgia general contractor license and insurance requirements.
General contractors must hold a state license in Hawaii to do any commercial, residential or public works that are worth more than $1,000 or require a building permit. The Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs, Professional and Vocational Licensing Board awards a number of licenses including general engineering contractors (fixed works projects) and general building contractors (construction of structures using more than two unrelated trades).
Learn more about Hawaii general contractor license and insurance requirements.
Any general contractor who performs construction work worth more than $2,000 must be registered with the Idaho Contractors Board. There is no state licensing requirement for general contractors in Idaho.
Learn more about general contractor license requirements in Idaho.
Illinois does not have a state license requirement for general contractors. However, you will have to get a license and insurance before you can start work in many local jurisdictions.
For example, Chicago requires specific licenses based on the value of projects your business will work on. It also has minimum requirements for contractor business insurance.
You might be able to work out a license reciprocity agreement in Illinois if you already have a contractor license in another state. If not, you’ll need to apply for a license from scratch:
- Provide a description of the work and services you aim to perform
- Specify the classification of license for which you are applying for
- Clarify your business structure and provide additional company information
- Identify and verify by affidavit that the applicant or member of your business entity is financially stable
- Submit your certificate of insurance with the City of Chicago as additionally insured and policy limits ranging from $1 million to $5 million depending on the sizes of your projects
- Sign and complete the application
You must also pay all licensing fees, which vary according to license class:
- Class A – $2,000 fee for an unlimited contract amount
- Class B – $1,000 fee for projects up to $10,000,000
- Class C – $750 fee for projects up to $5,000,000
- Class D – $500 fee for projects up to $2,000,000
- Class E – $300 fee for projects up to $500,000
Once you have your license, you need to renew it every year.
Learn more about general contractor license and insurance requirements in Illinois.
General contractors don’t need a state license to work in Indiana. Make sure to check the licensing requirements with local governments before you begin work.
Learn more about Indiana general contractor license and insurance requirements.
There are no state licensing requirements for general contractors in Iowa. However, any construction contractor (individual or business) who earns at least $2,000 a year doing construction work, must register with the Iowa Division of Labor.
General contractors don’t need to hold a state license to work in Kansas. However, there are local licensing requirements so make sure to check these before you begin work.
You don't need a state general contractor license to work in Kentucky. All licensing is done at the local city/county level so make sure to check this before you begin work.
Learn more about Kentucky general contractor license and insurance requirements.
General contractors must have a state license to work in Louisiana. There are five types of licenses you should consider, all of which are awarded by the Louisiana Licensing Board for Contractors:
Residential contractor license
Covers construction and home improvement projects worth more than $75,000. You’ll need to pass an exam to show a financial statement and proof of general liability and workers' compensation insurance.
Commercial contractor license
Covers commercial projects worth more than $50,000. You’ll need to submit a financial statement and must pass the trade exam, as well as the business and law exam.
Residential specialty licenses
These are a requirement for residential subcontractors undertaking projects in a specialized area, such as swimming pools, roofing or masonry that are valued over $7,500.
Mold Remediation License
You’ll need this license for any mold remediation project.
Home improvement registration
If you plan to do any home repair or improvement projects valued between $7,500 to $75,000, and you don’t have a residential or commercial license, you’ll need this license.
After you figure out which type of license you want, you need to apply for the license itself:
- Fill out your application
- Prepare your notarized financial statements
- Pick a legal representative
- Pass the exam
- Get insurance (you must have proof of general liability insurance coverage and a certificate of insurance for active workers’ compensation insurance)
- Pay relevant fees
- Get approval from the Louisiana State Licensing Board for General Contractors
Once you’ve completed all these steps, submit your application for board approval.
Learn more about Louisiana general contractor license and insurance requirements.
As a general contractor, you don’t need a state license to work in Maine. However, if you undertake any home improvement or home construction jobs worth more than $3,000 you must provide a written contract. There may be local licensing requirements so make sure to check these before you begin work.
As a general contractor, you may or may not need a state license, depending on the work you do. For new home construction, you don’t need a state license, but you do need to register with the Home Builder Registration Unit of the Office of the Attorney General. If you plan to do work on existing residential property, you will need to get your Maryland Home Improvement Contractor’s License (MHIC) from the Maryland Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation.
If you undertake any home improvement projects, you will need a license which is issued by the Maryland Home Improvement Commission. In this case, you’ll need to show proof of two years of work experience in home improvement or construction or related education.
You’ll also need to show proof of financial solvency and proof of insurance (at least $50,000 of contractors liability insurance). You must pass a business and law exam.
MHIC licenses cost $370 the first time you apply and the licensing exam costs $63. License renewals cost $250 and are required every two years. General contractors are also required to contribute $150 with each renewal fee to a guaranty fund to help Maryland homeowners recoup losses if a licensed contractor fails to complete a project.
Commercial contractors must register at the city/county level. You’ll apply for a construction license with the Clerk of the Circuit Court in your county if you plan to work on new construction projects, excavating or curbing and paving streets or sidewalks.
The Marine Contractors Licensing Board handles licensing for general contractors that work projects involving waterfront structures, such as boathouses, piers, ramps and wetland observation decks.
Learn more about Maryland general contractor license and insurance requirements.
As a general residential contractor in Massachusetts, you must be registered and licensed. You must hold a Home Improvement Contractor registration to perform ordinary repairs to an existing property. To work on larger projects on existing properties, you must also hold a Construction Supervisor License from the Office of Public Safety and Inspections.
You can apply for an unrestricted license, a one- and two-family dwellings license or a specialty license. You must show three years of experience in building construction or design, and you must pass an exam.
Contractors who build new homes or work on commercial buildings only are exempt.
Learn more about Massachusetts general contractor license and insurance requirements.
As a general contractor you’ll need a Residential Builders license or a Maintenance & Alterations Contractors license to construct, repair, alter, add to, subtract from or improve a residential structure or a combined residential and commercial structure. You’ll need to complete a 60-hour pre-licensure course and you must pass a test.
The general contractor license is awarded by the Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs (LARA). Commercial construction contractors must contact their local county building offices for permits or licenses.
Learn more about Michigan general contractor license and insurance requirements.
A general commercial contractor does not need a state license to work in Minnesota. However, a residential building contractor or remodeler does need a license. The Residential Building Contractor license is awarded by the Department of Labor and Industry.
Learn more about Minnesota general contractor license and insurance requirements.
General commercial and residential contractors must hold a state license to work in Mississippi on projects worth more than $50,000. The licenses are awarded by the Mississippi State Board of Contractors. You’ll need to pass a trade exam, as well as a business and law exam.
You must show proof of general liability insurance.
Learn more about Mississippi general contractor license and insurance requirements.
There is no state licensing requirement for general contractors in Missouri, but there may be general contractor license requirements on a local level that you need to check before you begin work.
There are no licensing requirements for general contractors in Montana. However, a construction contractor who has employees must register with the Department of Labor and Industry.
A general contractor doesn’t need a state license to work in Nebraska. However, if you do any work that is considered construction, alterations, renovations, additions, installations or repairs, you’ll need to register with the Department of Labor.
General contractors, defined as “businesses or individuals who construct or alter any building, highway, road, parking facility, railroad, excavation or other structure in Nevada,” must hold a state license. The license is awarded by the Nevada State Contractors Board.
You must show proof of workers' compensation insurance and proof of a bond. You are required to show proof of four years experience at a journeyman level or as a foreman, supervising employee or contractor.
You’ll need to pass a trade exam, as well as a business and law exam.
Learn more about Nevada general contractor license and insurance requirements.
General contractors do not need a state license to work in New Hampshire. However, make sure to check local licensing requirements before you begin work.
There are no state licensing requirements for general contractors in New Jersey; however, you will need to register for a home building license with the New Jersey Department of Community Affairs or for a home improvement license with the New Jersey Division of Consumer Affairs. Commercial construction contractors are licensed at the city or county level.
If you have an incorporated business you might need to include your trade name certificate, certificate of incorporation, certificate of formation or registration of alternate name with your application. And if you created your business in another state, you’ll also need to show a certificate of authority proving you’re allowed to work in New Jersey.
You’ll receive a registration number when your application is approved, which you must include in all ads, contracts, business documents, messaging to customers, and on your business vehicles.
It’s important to renew your license every year before March 31. If you’re found working without a general contractor license in NJ, you could be fined $10,000 the first time and $20,000 for each additional offense.
Learn more about New Jersey general contractor license and insurance requirements.
General contractors must be licensed by the state to work in New Mexico. There are multiple classifications of contractors licenses issued by the New Mexico Department of Regulation and Licensing. These include GB-2 Residential and GB-98 General Building.
You’ll need to show proof of four years of experience. You can substitute up to two years of education for experience. You must pass a trade exam, as well as a business and law exam.
Learn more about general contractor license requirements in New Mexico.
A general contractor is not required to hold a state license in New York; however, local governments within the state do have licensing requirements and you need to check these before you begin work.
General contractors must have a state license to work in North Carolina if the projects they work on are worth more than $30,000. The general contractor license is awarded by the North Carolina Licensing Board for General Contractors.
There are multiple classifications of licenses, and you can be licensed in more than one classification if you meet the qualifications. These include building contractor, residential contractor, highway contractor, public utilities contractor and special contractor.
In order to become a general contractor in NC, you must:
- Be at least 18
- Answer questions about your background
- Be legally registered to conduct business
- Pass the National Accredited Building Examination given by the National Association of State Contractors Licensing Agencies (NASCLA)
- Have the finances available to back up projects of $30,0000 or more
After you apply online, the licensing board will send you instructions on how to sign up for the right exams. The board will review your exam and send you your license once you’re approved.
The licensing is complete after a clean background check and the entire process typically takes around 30 days.
Learn more about North Carolina general contractor license requirements.
All contractors in North Dakota require a state license to work on projects worth more than $4,000. A contractor is considered any person who constructs, repairs, alters, dismantles or demolishes “bridges, highways, roads, streets, buildings, airports, dams, pipelines, and every other structure, project, development or improvement” of property.
You must apply for Class A, B, C or D according to the scope of the work you plan to do. You must show proof of insurance before you’ll be granted a license from the Secretary of State.
A general contractor does not need a state license to work in Ohio for small projects that cost less than $1,000. Licenses are only required for electrical, plumbing, HVAC, hydronics and refrigeration, for which you’ll need to get a statewide license issued by the Ohio Construction Industry Licensing Board (OCILB).
To apply for a statewide contractor license in Ohio, you’ll need to:
- Be 18 or over
- Be a U.S. citizen or legal alien with proof of residence
- Have worked as a tradesperson for at least five years, be a registered engineer or have equivalent experience
- Not have been convicted of a crime
- Pass the exam
- Prove you have at least $500,000 in contractor liability insurance
- Pay a $25 application fee
You can apply for a general license at the local level if you aren’t going to be specializing in any trades (HVAC, electrical, plumbing, hydronics or refrigeration).
Be careful to note that different parts of Ohio have different rules for how to get a general contractor license so it’s important to know both the state and the city requirements before you apply.
Learn more about Ohio general contractor license requirements.
General contractors do not need a state license to work in Oklahoma. There may be licensing requirements at the local level so be sure to check these before you begin work.
Learn more about general contractor license requirements in Oklahoma.
A general contractor must hold a state license to work in Oregon. A contractor is considered any person who is paid to do any construction work that involves an improvement to real property. You can apply for a residential contractor license, a commercial license or a dual residential and commercial license. The license is awarded by the Oregon Construction Contractors Board.
You must complete pre-license training and take a test. You’ll also need to show proof of liability and workers’ compensation insurance.
The rules for obtaining a license in Oregon are more strict than in some other states. Before you can submit an application you need to register your business with the state and figure out what kinds of buildings you plan to work on (residential, commercial or both) as well as the type of work you’re going to do.
You’ll then need to complete and pass a 16-hour training course if you haven’t already passed the NASCLA commercial exam. You can take this course online ($19-$385), in person ($200-$550) or in a self-study format ($19-$385). It costs $60 to take the exam.
You need to have a surety bond in the amount required for the type of license you want, Oregon general liability insurance and workers’ compensation insurance, as well as Oregon Business and Federal Employer identification numbers.
If you’re 18 or over you can then submit your application to the Construction Contractors Board (CCB), along with your supporting documents and a $250 fee. If you’re approved, your license is valid for two years. The CCB license number assigned to your business must appear on all your advertising. And you must complete continuing education every two years to renew your license.
Learn more about Oregon general contractor license requirements.
General contractors and commercial contractors do not need a state license to work in Pennsylvania. However, if you do more than $5,000 worth of work on home improvement projects per year, you’ll need to register with the Attorney General’s Office.
Learn more about general contractor license requirements in Pennsylvania.
There is no licensing requirement for general contractors in Rhode Island; however, there is a comprehensive registration process. All contractors and subcontractors who are involved in commercial construction, home construction, alterations, remodeling or repairs to property, must register with the Contractors’ Registration and Licensing Board.
You must complete five hours of pre-license education and must show proof of liability insurance.
General contractors will require a General and Mechanical Contractors License to work in South Carolina on any commercial construction jobs worth over $5,000. The general contractor license is awarded by the South Carolina Department of Labor, Licensing and Regulation.
You’ll need to show proof of two years of experience in the past five year and pass a trade exam, as well as a business and law exam.
Learn more about general contractor license requirements in South Carolina.
General contractors are not licensed at the state level in South Dakota. Before you begin work, check with local and county governments as there may be local licensing requirements.
General contractors must hold a contractors license before they can bid on or negotiate prices for any projects that are worth $25,000 or more. This applies to any person who oversees or performs any construction, repair or installation for buildings, land, highways, public utilities and more.
You’ll need to show proof of experience, proof of insurance and a financial statement. You’ll also need to pass a trade exam, as well as a business and law exam. General contractors are licensed by the TN Department of Licensing and Insurance, Board for Licensing Contractors.
Learn more about general contractor license and insurance requirements in Tennessee
Texas does not require a general contractor license at the state level. However, there are local licensing requirements in some cities, so make sure to check with your city or county before you start any work.
It’s also a requirement for every business to have a Texas Business License.
Before you apply to work as a general contractor in Texas, you first need to figure out which category you’ll be working under and what you need to do to obtain that specific license. If you’re planning to work as an electrician, plumber or HVAC technician, you should familiarize yourself with the requirements for each of those trades:
- Electrician: There are a minimum number of hours required for on-the-job training and you’ll need to register with the Texas Licensing and Regulations board.
- Plumber: You must complete a minimum number of hours of experience, courses, and pass the exam. After you pass you can apply online for your license with the Texas State Board of Plumbing Examiners.
- HVAC technician: To qualify for either a Class A or Class B license, you need to have a minimum of 48 months of work or educational experience and pass the Air Condition and Refrigeration exam.
Although it’s not mandatory to have a general contractor state license, you may need to get one from your local municipality. The rules can vary a lot by city or district so it’s a good idea to research your local area to figure out exactly what’s needed.
Learn more about Texas general contractor license and insurance requirements.
A general contractor requires a state license to do any work in Utah that is worth more than $3,000. The B-100 General Building Contractor License is awarded by the Utah Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing.
You’ll need to pass a trade exam and a business and law exam.
Learn more about Utah general contractor license and insurance requirements.
General contractors do not need a state license to work in Vermont; however, there may be local requirements, so you'll want to make sure to check these before you begin work.
General contractors must have a state license, issued by the Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation, in order to work in Virginia.
You need to choose the license classification you want to be licensed for, most specifically Commercial Building Contractor or Residential Building Contractor. There are three license classes (A, B or C), depending on the scope of the work you plan to do:
- Class A licenses: For individual projects worth up to $10,000 with a maximum of $150,000 per year. You must have two years of experience.
- Class B licenses: For individual projects of up to $120,000 with a maximum of $750,000 per year. You must have three years of experience.
- Class C licenses: Unlimited. You must have five years of experience.
For all classes of licenses, you must complete a pre-license education course approved by the Board of Contractors and then pass an exam.
Learn more about Virginia contractor license requirements.
As a general contractor in Washington, there is no state licensing requirement, but you’ll need to register with the Washington State Department of Labor & Industries. This will allow you to “supervise numerous building trades or crafts.”
You’ll need to show proof of a $12,000 surety bond and proof of general liability insurance. You also must pass an exam.
Learn more about general contractor requirements in Washington.
General contractors who do any work on projects worth more than $2,500 require a general contractor license to work in West Virginia. The license is issued by the West Virginia Division of Labor. There are multiple classifications of licenses, including general building and general engineering.
You’ll need to pass a trade exam, as well as a business and law exam. You must also show proof of workers' compensation insurance and you may require a wage bond.
A general contractor must hold a Dwelling Contractor Qualifier license to work in Wisconsin on any construction projects worth more than $1,000. This includes construction, alterations, and improvements on residential, commercial, and public works projects.
You must complete a 12-hour education course approved by the board and pass a test, and you must show proof of insurance. To obtain building permits, your business must hold a Dwelling Contractor license.
Learn more about general contractor license requirements in Wisconsin.
General contractors do not need to hold a state license to work in Wyoming. Licensing is done at the local level so check with your city or county before you begin work.
Contractor license info by state
Learn more about contractor license requirements in the following states:
This information has been provided as a service. It is correct and up-to-date to the best of our knowledge; however, it is in no way intended to offer legal advice and you must always consult with local authorities before you make any business decisions. Regulations and requirements may change at any time.