Buy your policy 100% online in minutes, whenever and wherever you choose
Pay monthly, with amazing prices and absolutely no extra fees
Your business insurance coverage is designed to meet your needs
Rated 4.7 out of 5 stars, based on 3393 reviews.
Missouri state law requires non-construction companies with five or more employees to carry workers’ compensation insurance. If you are in the construction industry, coverage if you are a contractor or have employees.
Employees who are full-time, part-time, seasonal, temporary or family members are all included in your overall employee count. If you are an officer in a corporation or a member of a limited liability company (LLC), you will also count as an employee.
While not always mandatory, all businesses can benefit from the important financial protection workers’ compensation insurance provides to both owners and employees. Not having coverage means that your business could be held financially responsible for workplace injuries and penalties if you are not in compliance.
If one of your employees ends up hurt or sick while at work, your Missouri workers’ compensation policy can help cover payments for:
In need of coverage? Start a free online instant quote with Next Insurance. In less than 10 minutes, you can have the workers’ compensation coverage you need to protect your business. We’re 100% dedicated to helping small businesses and contractors find customized coverage.
Sole proprietors or members of a partnership, will not count as an employee towards workers’ comp requirements.
A subcontractor working in construction might not be required to have workers’ compensation coverage. However, if a general contractor requires proof of insurance, you must get coverage to be hired for that job or they can choose not to work with you. Your business can show you have proof of coverage with a certificate of insurance (COI) form.
Workers’ compensation insurance is also required to get a Missouri general contractor license.
Additionally, the Missouri Division of Workers’ Compensation allows exemptions for these professions:
There’s always the potential for a workplace injury, regardless if you are an independent contractor on a roofing project or an accountant working in an office. Protection against those instances through workers’ compensation coverage makes sense for any type of business, even if you feel your industry is low risk.
You never know when you or an employee could get injured or sick at work. If you don’t have coverage, you could be financially responsible for the medical and other expenses related to the accident or injury.
In 2020, there were nearly 10,000 workers’ compensation claims filed in Missouri that resulted in almost $250 million in benefits, according to the Department of Labor.
If an employee is injured at work, they must report it within 30 days. The Missouri workers’ compensation statutes of limitations allows a claim for benefits to be filed within two years. However, it’s a best practice to notify your insurance company as soon as possible.
If approved, the claim is processed and the injured employee receives benefits.
For example, if an employee cuts their hand on a piece of glass while at work and experiences a debilitating tendon injury, they can file a claim. If covered, your workers’ compensation policy can help pay for your employee’s lost wages, as well as their medical expenses.
Workers’ compensation in Missouri can also cover a permanent disability caused by a work-related injury or illness.
Workers’ Comp death benefits in Missouri
There are times, unfortunately, where an employee might die on the job. In that case, Missouri workers’ compensation laws allow that the dependents, usually a surviving spouse or dependent children, can collect a death benefit that is 66 2/3% of the average weekly wage that was paid in the year immediately preceding their death. This amount is potentially subject to a maximum set by the state.
Employers, or their insurer, must also cover up to $5,000 in funeral expenses.
In Missouri, the exact workers’ compensation rates can vary by both industry and profession. Even within your business, you might have employees who are classified within different risk levels. The state determines the specifics of rates based on a couple of different factors.
Next Insurance can help you figure out all of your coverage needs. Regardless of the type of business you own, if you need workers’ compensation in Missouri, Next Insurance’s painless and seamless process can get you a quote and purchase coverage in less than 10 minutes.
Simply answer a few questions about your business, and you’ll be able to purchase coverage and instantly access your certificate of insurance. Our team of U.S.-based licensed insurance advisors is standing by and ready to answer any of your questions.
Beyond worker’s compensation, other types of coverage can protect your business from additional risks. Here are two more types of business insurance Missouri business owners should consider:
General liability insurance can help protect your business from common accidents, such as injuries that happen to someone other than an employee or damage to someone else’s property.
Missouri requires all business-owned vehicles to have commercial auto insurance. It can help cover expenses if you or your employees are involved in an accident while driving for business.