Buy your policy 100% online in minutes, whenever and wherever you choose
Pay monthly, with amazing prices and absolutely no extra fees
Your business insurance coverage is designed to meet your needs
Rated 4.7 out of 5 stars, based on 3393 reviews.
Most employers in Utah are required to have workers’ compensation coverage for their entire workforce. However, there are a few exceptions.
Continue reading to learn all you need to know about the workers’ compensation in Utah.
Workers’ compensation insurance provides important financial protection for employees and business owners.
Without it, you might have to pay out of pocket for injuries you or your employees experience while at work. Many states, including Utah, also impose penalties on companies that don’t comply with workers’ compensation regulations — even if you had insurance but let it lapse.
If you or your employees experience a workplace injury, your Utah workers’ compensation policy can help to cover the costs of:
If you need workers’ compensation coverage, Next Insurance can help you get a quote, buy the coverage you need and get a certificate of insurance (COI) in less than 10 minutes. The process is painless and can be completed entirely online.
While most companies need to get workers’ compensation insurance, people working in the following areas can be exempt, in some cases, from Utah workers’ compensation requirements:
Utah law also lets certain parties apply for a workers’ compensation coverage waiver, including:
To qualify for a Utah workers’ compensation waiver, you’ll have to submit the required documents and pay a $50 processing fee to the Utah Labor Commission.
Even if you are exempt, you can still choose to self-insure so you don’t have to pay out of pocket for all expenses after a workplace injury.
While the risk for injuries is higher in certain industries, such as construction, there’s always the possibility that one of your employees will get hurt at work.
For example, if your employee trips over an extension cord and falls at your office, you may be held financially responsible for their medical expenses, which can also include expenses related to the injuries sustained like permanent disability.
Workers’ compensation coverage helps protect business owners against the costs of potential accidents and injuries, so it’s purchased by all types of businesses in Utah and nationwide.
To get a workers’ compensation plan in Utah, you’ll sign up with a provider like Next Insurance and pay your premiums. If one of your employees is injured while at work, they must report it within one year from the date of the illness or injury.
As an employer, you must report any claims to your insurance carrier within seven days. The insurance carrier then has 14 days to report it to the Industrial Accidents Division. If that claim is approved, it gets processed and the employee who was injured will receive benefits from your insurance company.
Next Insurance typically makes a claims decision within 48 hours of when the claim is filed.
With workers’ compensation coverage, your policy can help pay for your employee’s medical expenses and lost wages. Additionally, it can cover a permanent disability caused by a work-related injury or illness.
Employers also get liability insurance protecting you against lawsuits brought on by employees injured on the job.
Utah workers’ compensation law says that dependents can collect a death benefit equal to a percentage of the person’s average weekly gross pay. Dependents typically include a surviving spouse and dependent children.
There is usually an upper limit on the benefit amount that is determined by state regulators. Insurers or employers are also often required to cover some funeral and burial expenses.
The exact workers’ compensation rates in Utah can vary based on the following factors:
At Next Insurance, we can easily help you get a quote online in minutes.
Regardless of the type of business you own, Next Insurance can help you get the workers’ comp coverage you need at an affordable price.
The seamless and painless process is done entirely online. All you need to do is answer a few questions about your business, and in less than 10 minutes, you can get you a quote and purchase coverage. You’ll also have instant online access to your certificate of insurance.
While workers’ compensation insurance is important, there are a few other types of Utah business insurance policies you may need.
Accidents don’t just happen to employees. General liability insurance helps protect you and your business from incidents that happen with non-employees (like clients) and their property. Additionally, it can protect you against slander or libel.
If you use vehicles for business, commercial auto insurance can help to protect you and your employees against accidents and injuries that happen while conducting business.