Includes examinations, treatments and rehabilitation.
Gives employees time to recover from an injury before returning to work.
Helps employees who need to learn skills and enter a new field.
Provides benefits for employees who can no longer work due to injury.
Are you an Arizona business owner with one or more part-time or full-time employees? If the answer is yes, you’re required by law to have workers’ compensation insurance.
Under Arizona workers’ compensation law, employees are entitled to receive benefits for job-related injuries and occupational illnesses, no matter who is responsible, as long as the employee didn’t intentionally cause the accident.
After purchasing a policy, you must post a notice at your business — typically in an employees-only area — that shows you have coverage.
Unlike healthcare insurance, you can’t share the cost of workers’ comp insurance with your employees. You’re responsible for paying 100% of the premium, which can be paid monthly or annually when you purchase coverage with Next Insurance.
More than 90,000 workers’ compensation claims are filed in Arizona every year1. Having proper coverage not only protects your workers, it protects your business from the impact of potential claims. Workers’ comp insurance helps pay for medical expenses and lost wages after work-related accidents if you or an employee get hurt.
For example, if one of your employees, slips, falls and breaks a leg, your policy can help pay for the employee’s medical bills and a portion of their lost wages if they’re unable to return to work for an extended period of time.
If one of your employees is injured on the job, you have 10 days to report it to your insurance carrier and the Industrial Commission of Arizona (ICA).
Unlike most other types of insurance, you could face fines if you have employees and don’t have an active workers’ comp policy in Arizona. That’s because it provides coverage that offers important protection for the workers who are helping your business.
If you have a lapse in coverage, you also run the risk of an employee lawsuit if someone gets hurt. In that case, you would be paying for related expenses out of pocket.
Without coverage, your employees can either file a lawsuit against you or file a claim with the ICA if they get hurt on the job. If they file a claim with the ICA, you could be responsible for paying the injured worker’s medical expenses and lost wages, and an added penalty of 10% of that amount or $1,000, whichever is larger.
Not worried because you’re in a low-risk industry? Even if no claims are filed against you, the ICA can order you to shut down your business until you have proper coverage. And you could face a fine of $1,000 for being uninsured.
If the ICA finds that you’re uninsured twice within five years, the fine increases to $5,000, and it goes up to $10,000 the third time you’re uninsured in five years.2
Even if the chances of your workers getting sick or injured are low, the benefits of having a policy outweigh the risks of not having one. Not only does it protect the health of your employees, it helps protect your bottom line.
There are more than 550,000 small businesses in Arizona, and most of them have more than one employee.3 However, not all of them have workers’ comp coverage due to a few exemptions.
If you’re a sole proprietor, you don’t need to maintain workers’ compensation coverage for yourself.
Although, you may want to consider it, in case you get hurt at work. For example, if you’re an interior designer and hurt your back moving furniture, a workers’ comp policy may help pay your medical bills while you’re recovering.
You don’t need workers’ comp insurance if you only work with independent contractors who aren’t employees of your business. And you don’t need to maintain coverage for domestic helpers who work in your home.
Arizona workers’ compensation insurance helps pay for expenses related to workplace injuries, including:
Coverage is available for acute injuries, such as falls, and injuries that may gradually worsen over time, such as carpal tunnel.
For a medical claim, your insurance provider pays only for medical expenses, such as treatment and prescriptions. It doesn’t provide compensation for lost wages. All medical bills are paid up to the policy limit until the doctor releases the patient from treatment.
When a time-lost claim is filed, the insurance company pays for medical expenses and lost wages if the employee has to miss more than seven consecutive days of work because of their injury or illness.
If the employee misses 8-13 days of work, they won’t be compensated for the first seven days. But if they miss more than 14 days, they’ll be compensated for all time missed beginning on the date of the injury. The employee will receive 66% of their monthly pay up to a maximum of about $3,2594 for as long as they’re actively receiving treatment from a doctor.
When you purchase coverage with Next Insurance, we strive to make claims decisions within 48 hours so you can move forward and get back to focusing on your business.
If an employee’s condition stabilizes but they haven’t fully recovered, they may be eligible for permanent compensation based on the type of injury they sustained.
Under Arizona workers’ compensation laws, compensation injuries ranges from 50% to 75% of the employee’s average monthly wage. The amount and length of time a person can receive benefits varies based on the injury.
If they’re able to work but earn less than what they were earning before they were injured, they’ll receive 55% of the difference between their previous average monthly wage and what they’re estimated to earn.5
If an employee dies because of a job-related injury or illness, workers’ compensation covers up to $5,000 in burial expenses. Plus, surviving dependents will receive up to 66%6 of the employee’s average monthly wage.
Many factors affect the cost of coverage. Arizona workers’ compensation rates vary based on:
If you have a business in an industry where work-related accidents are more common, you’ll likely pay more than a business owner with a business in a lower risk industry.
NEXT Insurance offers a painless and seamless option to quickly get the workers’ comp coverage you need.
After you complete your online application, we’ll provide you with your coverage options. Select the policy that’s right for, pay your premium and get immediate access to your certificate of insurance. The whole process only takes about 10 minutes.
We’re 100% dedicated to small businesses and the self-employed. If you have questions, our licensed U.S.-based insurance advisors are ready and waiting to help.
General liability insurance is typically the first type of insurance business owners buy. It can help protect your business if someone accuses you of causing an injury or damaging their property. If you are a contractor or own a cleaning business you can add tools and equipment insurance to protect your gear.
Commercial auto insurance is similar to your personal auto insurance. But instead of covering your personal vehicles, it covers vehicles used for your business.
Professional liability insurance covers you if a customer accuses you of making a mistake that adversely affects their business.
1 The Industrial Commission of Arizona 2018 Annual Report
2 The Industrial Commission of Arizona Workers’ Compensation Insurance Employers’ Frequently Asked Questions
3 Arizona Small Business Economic Profiles for 2018
4 The Industrial Commission of Arizona AMW Statutory Maximum Information
5 The Industrial Commission of Arizona Workers’ Compensation Information for the Injured Worker
Learn more about workers’ compensation insurance options in the state where you work.
Business insurance is divided into different policies. We offer seven types so it's easy to design the coverage that fits your business.