Is Oregon Workers’ Compensation insurance required?
Workers’ compensation insurance is required for most Oregon businesses that have employees, according to the Oregon Workers’ Compensation Division. This rule applies even if your employees are part-time.
Workers’ compensation insurance can help protect your business from the full financial responsibility of work-related injuries an employee might suffer on the job.
If you don’t carry coverage your business could be vulnerable to potential liability and out of compliance with state laws.
An Oregon workers’ compensation policy can help cover expenses related to:
- Emergency medical treatment
- Ongoing medical care
- Lost wages
- Death benefits
How does Workers’ Comp work in Oregon?
Workers’ compensation insurance can help pay for an employee’s lost wages if they’re unable to work due to job-related illness or injury. It can also help cover the cost of some medical expenses.
Oregon offers two types of workers’ comp settlements:
- A claim disposition agreement (CDA): This is a legal agreement where in return for a monetary amount, an employee gives up their right to certain benefits and disability awards.
- A disputed claims settlement: This settlement is an appeal on a previously denied claim. The insurance company may agree to a cash settlement on this new claim.
Oregon workers’ compensation settlement amounts are agreed upon either by the Oregon Workers’ Compensation Board or the insurer. The statute of limitations for workers’ compensation claims in Oregon is one year from the discovery of the illness or injury.
If an employee dies while on the job, their survivors may be eligible for death benefits through workers’ compensation. In Oregon, workers’ compensation statutes say surviving qualified family members are eligible for monthly benefits. The state also requires insurance companies to pay for depositions and funeral expenses up to a maximum amount.
Learn more about workers’ compensation coverage.
How much is Workers’ Comp insurance in Oregon?
Workers’ compensation costs vary across industries. Factors that influence price include:
- The number of employees and the type of work they do
- Your total payroll
- Your insurance claims history
- The locations where you do business
The best way to determine the insurance rate for your business is to get a free instant quote from NEXT.
What if you don’t have Workers’ Compensation insurance in Oregon?
If the Oregon Workers’ Compensation Division finds your company violates workers’ compensation laws, you may be subject to a fine or state penalties.
The first offense can be twice your estimated premium amount, with a minimum of $1,000. Further non-compliance can result in a penalty of $250 per day with no limit, followed by a permanent court injunction.
Who is exempt from Oregon Workers’ Compensation insurance?
The Oregon Workers’ Compensation Division sets the guidelines for business exemptions.
The following businesses are not required to have workers’ compensation coverage:
- Independent contractors.
- Sole proprietors.
- Business partners.
- Private residence workers, including cleaners, home health care aides and gardeners.
- Casual labor workers who are paid less than $500 in any 30-day-period.
- Corporate officers who serve on the board and own more than 10% stock in the company.
- Most members of limited liability corporations (LLCs).
- Out-of-state workers temporarily working in Oregon — as long as they are covered by a policy in their home state.
How NEXT helps Oregon small business owners
NEXT offers an easy way to get a free workers’ compensation insurance quote, purchase coverage and instantly share a certificate of insurance in about 10 minutes.
NEXT strives to resolve every claim quickly. Learn more about our claims process and how our claims advocates will work with you after an employee injury.
Start a free instant quote with NEXT.