top

Nevada Workers’ Compensation insurance

Featured in:
Rated 4.7/5
Simple
Simple

Buy your policy 100% online in minutes, whenever and wherever you choose

Affordable
Affordable

Pay monthly, with amazing prices and absolutely no extra fees

Tailored
Tailored

Your business insurance coverage is designed to meet your needs

Small business insurance has never been easier

Rated 4.7 out of 5 stars, based on 2966 reviews.

Is Workers’ Compensation insurance required in Nevada?

While Nevada is known for taking a lighter touch than other states with regulating businesses, it still requires almost every private employer to have and maintain workers’ comp insurance

If you or an employee is injured on the job, a workers’ comp policy generally can help pay for:

  • Emergency treatment
  • Medical bills
  • Lost wages
  • Death benefits

Even if you don’t have coverage and you work as a sole proprietor, clients might request proof of coverage before signing a contract to work with you, so it’s good to be prepared. 

Start a free online instant quote to get a free quote and explore options for your business.

Who is exempt from Workers’ Comp insurance in Nevada?

There are very few exemptions for Nevada workers’ comp requirements. They usually involve temporary or short-term work, including:

 

  • Employees brought into Nevada temporarily who are covered by insurance from another state
  • Jobs that are not subject to Nevada’s laws, such as interstate commerce
  • Employment lasting no more than 20 days with a total labor cost under $500

How does Workers’ Compensation work in Nevada?

When you purchase a workers’ comp policy in Nevada, your employees will be covered for work-related injuries by what the insurance industry calls a “no-fault policy.” This means they get the protection provided by the coverage and you, as a business owner, are also protected. 

Employers are especially protected in Nevada because employees can not claim additional damages if they were properly covered at the time of the workplace injury. This is known by another industry term called “exclusive remedy.”

For example, you own a mechanical business fixing slot machines. One of your employees breaks his finger while working on a machine. He goes to the emergency room, where he receives medical attention including x-rays and casting. 

Workers’ compensation would help pay for emergency treatment expenses up to the policy limit.

In Nevada, the workers’ compensation requirements provide benefits, such as: 

 

  • Medical treatment 
  • Lost time compensation
  • Permanent Partial Disability 
  • Permanent Total Disability 
  • Vocational Rehabilitation 
  • Dependent’s benefits in the event of death
  • Other claims-related benefits or expenses (ex. mileage)

 

Workers’ Compensation benefits in Nevada

Workers’ compensation benefits in Nevada generally include four areas that can help cover loss of income after a workplace injury. The maximum annual amount is determined by the average monthly wage set by the state government

 

Benefits include:  

Temporary total disability, which is paid out to workers who need to take more than five days off due to a work-related injury. The benefits will be up to two-thirds of their average monthly wage, but will be capped at a maximum amount that is calculated annually. 

 

Temporary partial disability can cover employees who are able to work, but must do so in a lesser capacity due to injury, and their wages are affected. The benefits are calculated by the difference between your post-injury wages and what would be your temporary total disability rate.

 

Permanent partial disability is assessed when the injured worker can work but will have permanent limitations. The employee is given an impairment rating based on the American Medical Association’s Guides to the Evaluation of Permanent Impairment. Monthly compensation is based on their monthly salary until the age of 70. 

 

Permanent total disability means the injured person can no longer work. Payments will be made up to two-thirds of their monthly salary and made for life. 

Workers’ comp death benefits in Nevada

In the unfortunate event of an employee’s death, their spouse, children or other dependents can receive death benefits and funeral expenses. A worker’s family members can receive up to $10,000 in funeral and burial expenses.

How much does Workers’ Comp insurance cost in Nevada?

Because the risk of on-the-job injury is greater for certain industries, workers’ comp costs vary across professions.

Factors that influence price include:

  • The number of employees and the type of work they do
  • Your insurance claims history
  • The locations where you do business

How Next Insurance helps business owners find Workers’ Comp coverage

Next insurance offers workers’ compensation insurance that is customized to meet the needs of thousands of different types of businesses in Nevada. 

Start a free instant quote online to see how much coverage will cost for your business and access your certificate of insurance. 

You’ll just need to answer a few questions to get a quote in less than 10 minutes. Our U.S.-based licensed insurance advisors are standing by to help if you have any questions.

Other business insurance policies that are important in Nevada

Workers’ comp provides you and your employees with important protections, but you might still need to include additional coverage in your business insurance package to make sure you are protected from the business risks you face every day. 

 

Most Nevada businesses also consider these options:

General Liability insurance

General liability insurance protects your business from common mistakes or accidents that can occur in your industry, such as customer injury or damages to someone’s property. 

Professional Liability insurance (a.k.a. E&O insurance)

Professional liability insurance provides financial protection against claims of professional mistakes and negligence. 

Commercial Auto insurance

In Nevada, all business-owned vehicles must be covered by commercial auto insurance. If you’re using your personal vehicle for work-related purposes, commercial auto insurance also protects your business from unexpected expenses if you are involved in an accident. 

FAQ

How do I get a Certificate of Insurance?
list
We provide you unlimited certificates of insurance, free of charge. Once you've purchased a policy, log in to our website to get proof of insurance or add an Additional Insured. In most cases, you'll get your certificate within minutes. Otherwise, we'll email it within one business day.
Can I add to or change my coverage?
list
If you’ve expanded your business and need coverage for more kinds of work, please let us know! An agent will go over your new operations and next steps with you and in most cases, we’ll be able to set you up with a new policy on the same day (so there will be no gaps in your coverage). Unfortunately though, we can’t remove any exclusions from the policy. So if you see your operations listed in our exclusions section, we’re very sorry, but our policy isn’t going to be the right fit for you just yet.
How does Live Certificate work?
list
When you login to your account at the Next Insurance website, you’ll see an option to “Share Proof”. Clicking that will give you an option to either put in an email address and have us send your certificate, or copy a link which you can send to anyone you like that will take them to your Live Certificate.
How long will it take to get my policy after I buy?
list
You will be receive your policy documents via email within one business day of purchase.
Check out our full FAQ section
Get your Workers' Comp quote online now Get Free Quote

Check Out Our Blog

Need More Information?

Live Certificates of Insurance
Check out our free, instant Live Certificate, and send to anyone, anytime
How it Works
Do You Have Questions?
Check out our Frequently Asked Questions and get answers
Take Me There
Get the Help You Need
Let us know if you need help, and our experts will get back to you
Get Help