With frequent droughts, California residents need their water use to be as efficient as possible. For many, that means calling a plumber to fix issues like leaky fixtures and damaged pipes.
Fortunately for plumbers, there are plenty of opportunities for work in California. In fact, this state employs more professionals in this field than any other. Plus, plumbers in California earn an average annual salary of $69,070, which is nearly $8,000 more than the national average.1
To get started as a plumber in this state, you’ll need a professional license issued by the California Department of Consumer Affairs Contractors State License Board.2 You must demonstrate that you have sufficient work experience, pass an exam and submit a bond in order to get this license.
To learn more about how to get a plumber license in California, check out this guide covering the following topics:
- Do you need a license to be a plumber?
- How to get a plumber license in California
- California plumber license requirements
- How long does it take to get your plumber license?
- California plumber license renewal requirements
- Reciprocity for California plumber licenses
- California plumber license bond requirements
- Hazardous substance removal certification
- What kind of insurance does a plumber need in California?
- What is the certificate of insurance requirement?
Do you need a license to be a plumber?
To become a California plumber, you must get a C-36 specialty contractor license from the Contractors State License Board (CSLB). This license permits you to work on projects valued at $500 or more.
The state allows licensed plumbing contractors to work on projects that provide “a means for a supply of safe water, ample in volume and of suitable temperature for the purpose intended and the proper disposal of fluid waste from the premises in all structures and fixed works,”3 such as:
- Water and gas piping
- Piping, storage tanks and venting
- Gas appliances, flues and gas connections
- On-site waste disposal systems
- Water heaters (including solar equipment)
- Health and safety devices (such as gas control valves, water conditioning equipment)
How to get a plumber license in California
When you apply for a plumbing contractor license, you’ll need to complete the following steps:
- Verify your work experience
- Submit your fingerprints
- Include the application fee
- Pass two exams
- Pay the license fee
Fill out the Certification of Work Experience form to verify your past work experience as a plumber. More details about the work experience requirements are included below.
The CSLB requires a full set of fingerprints for each applicant in order to run a criminal background check. You must complete the fingerprinting process through Live Scan, which is available at most local police departments as well as public Live Scan sites.
You must include a nonrefundable fee of $450 with your California plumber license application.
You’ll need to pass two exams after your application has been approved. The law and business exam covers business management and construction law, while the trade exam covers practical plumbing skills.
Both exams use a multiple-choice, closed-book format. The CSLB provides study guides online. You must take both exams at an official testing site.
After successfully passing both examinations, you must submit a payment to have your license issued. This fee equals $200 for a sole owner or $350 for a non-sole owner.
California plumber license requirements
To qualify for a plumbing license, California residents must have a minimum of four years of experience as a plumber in one or more of the following positions:
- Supervising employee
All work experience must be verified by a qualified individual, such as an employer, contractor, foreman, supervisor, union representative, building inspector or engineer.
No education requirements apply for this contractor classification. However, you may receive credit for up to three years of required experience for completing technical training, apprenticeship training or education.
How long does it take to get your plumber license in California?
Processing times for contractor applications in California vary based on a number of factors. To ensure prompt processing, make sure you submit a complete application with all entries filled out correctly and all forms, signatures and fees included.
The CSLB website offers a way to check your application status online.
California plumber license renewal requirements
Your California plumbing license will expire every two years. About two months before the scheduled expiration date, you’ll receive a renewal application from the CSLB. You can also find your expiration date on your license pocket card or by using the CSLB’s California plumber license lookup tool.
You must pay a renewal fee of $450 for sole owners or $700 for non-sole owners.
Reciprocity for California plumber licenses
California has a reciprocity agreement with Arizona for plumbing licenses. California’s C-36 classification for licensed plumbing contractors corresponds to the following Arizona license classifications:
Plumbers who have one of these classifications may apply for reciprocity with California as long as their Arizona license is active and in good standing for the last five years. Use the Request for Verification of License form to fill out the correct information and submit it with your application.
Approved reciprocal licensees must still take the law and business exam, but the trade exam is typically waived.
California plumber license bond requirements
Submitting a bond or cashier’s check in the amount of $15,000 is one of the final steps in how to get a plumbing license in California. Acceptable bonds must come from an insurance agent or a private holding company listed by the California Department of Insurance.
Hazardous substance removal certification
As a licensed plumbing contractor, you must have a hazardous substance removal certification if you plan to perform any type of hazardous substance removal work, such as installing or removing an underground storage tank.
To obtain this certification, you must apply to the CSLB and submit a nonrefundable $125 application fee. You’ll also need to pass a hazardous substance removal exam.
What kind of insurance does a plumber need in California?
General Liability insurance
General liability insurance provides coverage for some of the most common types of work-related accidents, like damage to someone’s property and client injuries.
Workers’ Compensation insurance
As a California plumbing contractor, you must have workers’ compensation insurance to get your license. This insurance provides coverage for lost wages and medical expenses if you or an employee gets hurt on the job.
Tools and Equipment insurance
Tools and equipment insurance covers the cost of repairs and replacements for stolen or damaged work gear.
Commercial Auto insurance
If you drive for work, commercial auto insurance provides coverage for accident-related costs, such as towing, rental reimbursement, repairs and medical bills.
Commercial Property insurance
Commercial property insurance provides coverage for repairs if a property you own or rent for your plumbing business is damaged or vandalized.
What is the certificate of insurance requirement in California for plumbers?
You must fulfill the workers’ compensation insurance requirement in order to maintain your plumbing contractor license. Submit a certificate of insurance with the CSLB listed as the Certificate Holder. Make sure to obtain your workers’ comp coverage through an insurance company licensed through the California Department of Insurance.
Plumbing contractors who don’t have any employees are exempt from the requirement, but must file a Workers' Compensation Insurance Exemption form with the registrar.
How NEXT Insurance supports California plumbing contractors
NEXT offers affordable plumber insurance for licensed contractors in California. We’ll make sure you have the right policies for self-employed plumber insurance or plumber business insurance to satisfy California licensing requirements.
Use our online services from any computer or mobile device to learn more about costs, get a quote, and apply for coverage. It only takes about 10 minutes to complete the whole process and get a Certificate of Insurance.
Get an instant quote online today.
Want to learn how to get a master plumber license in another U.S. state? Learn what states require plumber licenses in this guide to plumber license requirements.